SPASA announces the National Winners of 2019 Awards of Excellence




The SPASA Australia Awards of Excellence are the swimming pool and spa industry’s most prestigious awards, attracting entries from every region in Australia and showcasing achievements in construction, design, manufacturing, supply, products, retail and service. 

These awards provide our members with the only Australia-wide opportunity to showcase their best efforts to their peers, industry, government and their local community. These awards are the ultimate recognition of being leaders in their field.

We would like to thank all sponsors, entrants and judges involved in the 2019 Industry Awards.

Photos from the evening can be found HERE

Click here to view our winners

SPASA recognises Best of the Best Nationally

On 2 August 2019, members and guests were treated to the finest of catering that the Hilton Adelaide had to offer, entertained by Australia's adopted son of comedy, Arj Barker and enjoyed the fresh and vibrant sounds of “The Cast”, at the SPASA National Awards of Excellence gala dinner.

Marianne van Dorslar, television and radio announcer extraordinaire, charmed the audience as Emcee for the evening, presenting remarkable achievements in creativity, innovation and service, recognised across 62 categories. 

“Work is such a big part of everyone's lives and tonight showed that great work comes from people who love what they do. These awards show that professionals chase a vision not the money. Chase the vision to improve yourself and your offering and the money follows.” Said Lindsay McGrath, SPASA CEO. “If industry leadership was a picture it would paint a collage of tonight’s awards.  If a picture speaks 1,000 words, then the 1,000 entries give us a 1,000,000 word definition of the pool and spa industry”

The awards culminated in the major winners which were proudly presented to:

  • Pool of the Year - Urban Escape
  • Spa of the Year - Quality Dolphin Pools
  • Commercial Project of the Year - Suncatcher Pools
  • Retailer of the Year - Swimart Jindalee
  • Employee of the Year - Anita Zaplin of Summer Daze Pools & Inspections
  • Concrete Pool Builder of the Year - Environ Pools
  • Fibreglass Pool Builder of the Year - Rainwise Clearview
  • Supplier of the Year - Focus Products
  • Product of the Year - Sunbather

Darren Hawkins, owner of Rainwise Clearview was ecstatic with the win of Fibreglass Pool Builder of the Year, proclaiming “You have key moments in life, where you've got your original family, then you get married. That's a key moment in life. Then you have children, another key moment in life. But this, this is right up there as one of the key moments in my life, along with my wife, my family and my team. This is the ultimate for us, after 12 years of really hard work, we couldn’t be prouder.”

SPASA congratulates all entrants and winners of this year’s awards and thanks all sponsors, partners and staff who made the night possible with their ongoing support and generosity.

The SPASA Leadership Convention and National Awards of Excellence are supported by leading industry companies including Platinum Sponsors: Fluidra and Pentair; Gold Sponsor: Hayward Pool Products; and Category Sponsors & Partners: AB Phillips, Climate Care Certified, National Salary Packaging powered by AutoTender, People Matters AdviceLine, PoolBox, Pool + Spa, ProTrade United, Pool & Outdoor Design Magazine, Reece Irrigation & Pools, SPASA Training, SPLASH! and Sunbather; Judges: Australian Institute of Landscape Designers and Managers, Fair Work Lawyers, LNA Master Landscapers Association, Master Landscapers Association SA, Ray White Aspley; and event mangers: Wise Connections.